Updated: June 14, 2024
Name: Karpova Mariya Viktorovna
Date of Birth: November 18, 1980
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.2 (1.1)
Time spent in prison: 361 day in a pre-trial detention, 882 day Under house arrest
Current restrictions: suspended sentence
Sentence: punishment in the form of 6 years of imprisonment, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of religious public organizations for a period of 5 years, with restriction of liberty for a period of 1 year, punishment in the form of imprisonment shall be considered suspended with a probationary period of 3 years 6 months

Biography

After a raid on the homes of believers in Dagestan on June 1, 2019, law enforcement officers detained four civilians — one woman and three men. Two days later, the Sovetsky District Court of Makhachkala sent all four to a pre-trial detention center. Among them is Maria Karpova.

Maria was born in 1980 in Magadan. She was the middle child in the family: Maria has 2 brothers - Alexander and Fedor. As a child, she was fond of skiing. Maria loves to travel and is fond of reading.

She graduated from the Maykop Technical School with a degree in veterinary medicine. She worked as a food quality control laboratory assistant and, more recently, as a hairdresser.

For some time Mariya lived in Neftegorsk, in 2004 she moved to Makhachkala.

From her youth, Maria wondered about the future, and having found answers to her questions in the Bible, at the age of 18 she decided to embark on the path of Christianity.

The criminal prosecution turned Maria's life upside down - she lost her job, she began to have health problems.

In August 2019, Maria's father died, but she was not allowed to attend the funeral, as well as to see her mother. Despite the hardships that have befallen Maria, she tries to find the positive in her circumstances, to notice support from God and fellow believers, and to help people even in the conditions of the pre-trial detention center.

Case History

In the summer of 2019, the homes of local Jehovah’s Witnesses were searched in four cities of Dagestan. Two religious brochures on the list of extremist materials were planted in one of the homes. Prior to this, the FSB initiated a criminal case against Arsen Abdullaev, Anton Dergalev, Marat Abdulgalimov and Mariya Karpova, accusing them of organizing the activities of an extremist organization. Additionally, the three men were charged with financing a banned organization, while the woman was charged with involving others in it. All four were put on the Rosfinmonitoring list of extremists and terrorists. The believers spent 362 days in pre-trial detention, after which they were placed under house arrest. In 2020, the cassation court declared that their detention in a pre-trial detention center for 8 out of 12 months was unlawful. In March 2021, the consideration of the case on the merits began. In November 2022, the court gave Abdullayev, Abdulgalimov and Dergalev 6.5 year suspended sentences and gave Karpova a 6 year suspended sentence.

Обновлено: 18 апреля 2024 г.
ФИО: Карпова Мария Викторовна
Дата рождения: 18 ноября 1980 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденная
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.2 (1.1)
Провела под стражей: 361 день в СИЗО, 882 дня под домашним арестом
Текущие ограничения: Условное наказание
Приговор: наказание в виде 6 лет лишения свободы, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе религиозных общественных организаций сроком на 5 лет, с ограничением свободы сроком на 1 год, наказание в виде лишения свободы считать условным с испытательным сроком 3 года 6 месяцев

Биография

После рейда по домам верующих, который прошел в Дагестане 1 июня 2019 года, сотрудники правоохранительных органов задержали четырех мирных жителей — одну женщину и троих мужчин. Спустя два дня Советский районный суд Махачкалы отправил всех четверых в СИЗО. Среди них — Мария Карпова.

Мария родилась в 1980 году в Магадане. Была средним ребенком в семье: у Марии 2 брата — Александр и Федор. В детстве увлекалась лыжным спортом. Мария любит путешествовать и увлекается чтением.

Окончила Майкопский техникум по специальности ветеринария. Работала лаборантом по контролю качества продуктов питания, а в последнее время — парикмахером.

Некоторое время Мария жила в Нефтегорске, в 2004 году переехала в Махачкалу.

Мария с юности задавалась вопросами о будущем, и найдя ответы на свои вопросы в Библии, в 18 лет решила встать на путь христианства.

Уголовное преследование перевернуло жизнь Марии с ног на голову — она лишилась работы, у нее начались проблемы со здоровьем.

В августе 2019 года умер отец Марии, однако ей не позволили присутствовать на похоронах, а также увидеться с матерью. Несмотря на обрушившиеся на Марию невзгоды, она пытается находить в своих обстоятельствах положительное, замечать поддержку со стороны Бога и единоверцев и помогать людям даже в условиях СИЗО.

Краткая история дела

Летом 2019 года в четырех городах Дагестана прошли обыски у местных Свидетелей Иеговы. Одному из них были подброшены 2 религиозные брошюры из списка экстремистских материалов. Ранее ФСБ возбудила уголовное дело против Арсена Абдуллаева, Антона Дергалёва, Марата Абдулгалимова и Марии Карповой, обвинив их в организации деятельности экстремистской организации. Также троим мужчинам вменили в вину финансирование запрещенной организации, а женщине — вовлечение в нее. Все четверо были внесены в список экстремистов и террористов Росфинмониторинга. Верующие провели в СИЗО по 362 дня, после чего их поместили под домашний арест. В 2020 году кассационный суд признал их содержание в СИЗО в течение 8 месяцев из 12 незаконным. В марте 2021 года началось рассмотрение дела по существу. В ноябре 2022 года суд приговорил их Абдуллаева, Абдулгалимова и Дергалёва к 6,5 годам условно, а Карпову — к 6 годам условно.