Updated: June 14, 2024
Name: Shchannikov Viktor Nikolayevich
Date of Birth: April 8, 1961
Current status: defendant
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Current restrictions: recognizance agreement

Biography

Bible study helped Viktor Shchannikov from Pechora to abandon his asocial lifestyle and become a good citizen. Although he has been a peaceful Christian for 30 years, a criminal case was initiated against him under the "extremist" article in the fall of 2020.

Viktor was born in April 1961 in the village of Beryozovka, 30 kilometers from the city of Pechora (Komi Republic). Father and mother worked at the sawmill all their life. Viktor has a younger brother. As a child Viktor liked to draw and sculpt from plasticine. After school he acquired a driving specialty in Ukhta school, which was about 300 kilometers away from his house. After studying, Viktor got a job as a mechanic driver in Pechora. Since then, he has lived and worked in this cold northern city, and has recently been working as a grader driver (a self-propelled ground leveling machine).

Since childhood, mother taught her sons not to fight, not to steal, not to swear. However, in his youth, Viktor got involved into a bad company and became addicted to alcohol. Since childhood, he was outraged by the injustice that prevailed around him. Communication with Jehovah's Witnesses encouraged him to start exploring the Bible. From it he learned that God would restore justice on earth. Over time, Viktor realized that he himself needed to change in order to live happily. Application of principles from the Holy Scriptures helped him to become a different person: he broke all ties with his former friends, completely changed his lifestyle and became a Christian in 1990.

In 2003, Viktor married Viktoriya. She loves sewing and cooking. Viktor has been playing hockey since childhood. Together they go hiking, skating and swimming. The spouses have a 15-year-old son with disabilities.

The searches seriously affected the whole family, especially the health of Viktor's son and 83-year-old mother, who has a heart condition. "At work, everyone wonders why I am persecuted. They say that I was a normal person, and now they have sharply made me a criminal," says the believer.

Case History

In January 2020, security forces searched 12 houses in Pechora. Several people were detained. Among them are Gennadiy Polyakevich and Gennadiy Skutelets. On the same day, the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation opened a criminal case on extremism against Polyakevich and Skutelets. The court sent Polyakevich to a pre-trial detention center, where he spent 301 days, and placed Skutelets under house arrest for 364 days. In November 2020, another investigator of the Investigative Committee opened a new criminal case against Nikolay Anufriyev, Eduard Merinkov, Viktor Shchannikov, Aleksandr Vorontsov, and Aleksandr Prilepskiy. They were put on recognizance not to leave. The case went to court in May 2021, and eight months later it was returned to the prosecutor. In December 2022, at the age of 58, Aleksandr Prilepskiy died from the effects of COVID-19. In April 2023, the case went to court again.

Обновлено: 24 июля 2024 г.
ФИО: Щанников Виктор Николаевич
Дата рождения: 8 апреля 1961 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Текущие ограничения: подписка о невыезде

Биография

Изучение Библии помогло Виктору Ща́нникову из Печоры оставить асоциальный образ жизни и стать добропорядочным гражданином. Хотя он уже 30 лет является мирным христианином, осенью 2020 года против него было возбуждено уголовное дело по «экстремистской» статье.

Виктор родился в апреле 1961 года в поселке Берёзовка, в 30 километрах от города Печора (Республика Коми). Отец и мать всю жизнь проработали на лесопилке. У Виктора есть младший брат. В детстве Витя любил рисовать и лепить из пластилина. После школы он приобрел специальность водителя в ухтинском училище, которое находилось примерно в 300 километрах от его дома. Отучившись, Виктор устроился на работу в Печоре водителем-механизатором. С тех пор он живет и работает в этом холодном северном городе, в последнее время трудится машинистом грейдера (самоходной машины для разравнивания грунта).

Мама с детства учила сыновей не драться, не красть, не ругаться. Однако в юности Виктор связался с плохой компанией и пристрастился к алкоголю. С детства его возмущала царящая вокруг несправедливость. Общение со Свидетелями Иеговы побудило его начать исследовать Библию. Из нее он узнал, что Бог восстановит справедливость на всей земле. Со временем Виктор понял, что ему самому нужно измениться для того, чтобы жить счастливо. Применение принципов из Священного Писания помогло ему стать другим человеком: он порвал все связи с прежними друзьями, полностью изменил свой образ жизни и в 1990 году стал христианином.

В 2003 году Виктор женился на Виктории. Она любит шить и готовить. Виктор с самого детства играет в хоккей. Они вместе ходят в походы, на каток и в бассейн. У супругов есть 15-летний сын с ограниченными возможностями здоровья.

Обыски серьезно отразились на всей семье, особенно на здоровье сына и 83-летней мамы Виктора, у которой больное сердце. «На работе все удивляются, почему меня преследуют… Они говорят, что был нормальным человеком, а теперь резко сделали преступником», — рассказывает верующий.

Краткая история дела

В январе 2020 года в Печоре силовики провели обыски в 12 домах местных жителей. Несколько человек были задержаны. В их числе Геннадий Полякевич и Геннадий Скутелец. В этот же день СК РФ возбудил в отношении Полякевича и Скутельца уголовное дело об экстремизме. Суд отправил Полякевича в СИЗО, где он провел 301 день, а Скутельца поместил под домашний арест на 364 дня. В ноябре 2020 года другой следователь СК возбудил новое уголовное дело против Николая Ануфриева, Эдуарда Меринкова, Виктора Щанникова, Александра Воронцова и Александра Прилепского. С них взяли подписку о невыезде. Дело поступило в суд в мае 2021 года, а спустя 8 месяцев было возвращено прокурору. В декабря 2022 года в возрасте 58 лет Александр Прилепский скончался от последствий ковида. В апреле 2023 года дело поступило в суд повторно.