Updated: May 27, 2024
Name: Pyzhov Leonid Vyacheslavovich
Date of Birth: September 14, 1973
Current status: accused
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 83 day in a pre-trial detention
Current restrictions: detention center
Currently held in: Detention Center No. 1 in Omsk region
Address for correspondence: Pyzhov Leonid Vyacheslavovich, born September 14, 1973, SIZO No. 1 in Omsk Region, ul. Ordzhonikidze, 86, g. Omsk, Russia, 644007

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «zonatelecom».

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

An ordinary resident of Omsk, Leonid Pyzhov, worked in a social taxi, a service that deals with free or preferential transportation of the poor and those who cannot move independently. As one of Jehovah's Witnesses, he also talked to others about the Bible, for which he was prosecuted.

Leonid was born in 1973 in the city of Kurgan. He has a younger brother and sister. Their mother is now retired and lives alone.

In his youth, Leonid was fond of various types of martial arts. After school, he studied at a construction college as a mechanic. Before his arrest, already in Omsk, where he moved with his wife, he worked as a social taxi driver and manager of a pick-up point.

Leonid likes to do things with his own hands, such as carpentry, growing plants. He had a plan to build a house.

Even in his youth, Leonid was interested in questions about God and Jesus Christ. After reading the Gospels on his own, he concluded that in order to be a disciple of Jesus, you need to share with others what you have learned. One day, Jehovah's Witnesses knocked on Leonid's door and invited him to study the Bible. In it, he found answers to his questions. In 1995, Leonid became one of Jehovah's Witnesses.

Leonid met his future wife Tatyana among his fellow believers. They got married in 1996.

In March 2024, their home was searched. Leonid was detained and placed first in a temporary detention center, and then in a pre-trial detention center According to Tatyana, parting with her husband is a great grief for her.

Relatives worry about Leonid and are waiting for him to return home. They speak of him as a loving person, far from violence and extremism. According to them, Leonid is being persecuted only because he believes in God and reads the Bible.

Case History

In March 2024, law enforcement officers in Omsk searched the homes of Jehovah’s Witnesses, and dozens of believers were interrogated. During the searches, Sergey Rygaev and Leonid Pyzhov were beaten. The men were placed in a pre-trial detention center. For reading the Bible with friends, they were accused of organizing the activities of an extremist organization.

Обновлено: 12 июня 2024 г.
ФИО: Пыжов Леонид Вячеславович
Дата рождения: 14 сентября 1973 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: обвиняемый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 1 день в ИВС, 99 дней в СИЗО
Текущие ограничения: следственный изолятор
Текущее местонахождение: СИЗО № 1 по Омской области
Адрес для корреспонденции: Пыжову Леониду Вячеславовичу, 14 сентября 1973 г.р., СИЗО № 1 по Омской области, ул. л. Орджоникидзе, 86, г. Омск, 644007

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «zonatelecom».

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Обычный житель Омска Леонид Пыжо́в работал в социальном такси — службе, которая занимается бесплатными или льготными перевозками малоимущих и тех, кто не может передвигаться самостоятельно. Как Свидетель Иеговы, он также разговаривал с другими о Библии, и за это подвергся уголовному преследованию.

Леонид родился в 1973 году в городе Кургане. У него есть младшие брат и сестра. Их мать сейчас на пенсии, живет одна.

В юности Леонид увлекался разными видами единоборств. После школы учился в строительном техникуме на механика. До ареста, уже в Омске, куда он переехал с женой, работал водителем социального такси и управляющим пунктом выдачи товаров.

Леониду нравится делать что-то своими руками, например плотничать, выращивать растения. В планах было построить дом.

Еще в молодости Леонид интересовался вопросами о Боге и Иисусе Христе. Самостоятельно прочитав Евангелия, он сделал вывод: чтобы быть учеником Иисуса, нужно делиться с другими тем, что узнал сам. Однажды в дверь Леонида постучали Свидетели Иеговы и предложили ему изучать Библию. В ней он нашел ответы на волнующие его вопросы. В 1995 году Леонид стал Свидетелем Иеговы.

Свою будущую супругу Татьяну Леонид встретил среди единоверцев. Они поженились в 1996 году.

В марте 2024 года у них дома прошел обыск. Леонида задержали и поместили сначала в изолятор временного содержания, а затем в СИЗО По словам Татьяны, расставание с мужем для нее большое горе.

Родные переживают за Леонида и ждут его возвращения домой. Они отзываются о нем, как о любящем человеке, далеком от насилия и экстремизма. По их словам, Леонида преследуют только за то, что он верит в Бога и читает Библию.

Краткая история дела

В марте 2024 года в Омске правоохранители провели обыски в домах Свидетелей Иеговы, десятки верующих подверглись допросам. Во время обысков Сергей Рыгаев и Леонид Пыжов были избиты. Мужчин поместили в СИЗО. За чтение Библии в кругу друзей их обвинили в организации деятельности экстремистской организации.