Updated: February 22, 2024
Name: Ledenyov Sergey Mikhailovich
Date of Birth: July 23, 1974
Current status: who has served the main sentence
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Sentence: punishment in the form of imprisonment for a term of 2 years with restriction of liberty for a term of 6 months; The sentence of imprisonment shall be considered suspended with a probationary period of 3 years

Biography

In November 2020, Sergey Ledenyov from Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky was sentenced to 2 years of probation just because of his faith in Jehovah God.

Sergey was born in 1974 in the village of Ossora (Kamchatka Territory). One of six children. Since childhood, he likes to design models of various types of equipment, as well as draw and photograph. After graduating from school, he mastered the specialties of a bricklayer, carpenter and tiler-facing.

At one time, Sergey considered the Bible an outdated and unscientific book, but changed his mind when he got to know it better. The study of the Scriptures prompted Sergey to change his life. "My previous lifestyle was far from biblical norms," he says.

Sergey's second wife, Anna, whom he married in 2017, says of him: "Sergey is a very kind, very calm person, a loving and caring husband. This does not correspond in any way to what they are trying to accuse him of!" The couple love to ski and go rafting on the rivers of Kamchatka. Sergey has an adult daughter from his first marriage.

Sergey's relatives, who do not share his religious views, do not understand why he is being persecuted. Daughter Lera, as a result of his criminal prosecution, began to communicate more often with her father, considers him her example.

Case history

“They liquidated a legal entity, but they are persecuting an individual. If a hospital is closed, doctors are not judged for being doctors.” So a peaceful believer from Kamchatka, Sergey Ledenyov, had to explain the obvious in court. In December 2018, a criminal case was opened against him under Article 282.2 (1) of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation. The investigator accused Ledenyov of organizing extremist activities, imputing “planned training in the postulates of the religious association Jehovah’s Witnesses.” At a preliminary hearing, the court returned the case to the prosecutor, but the supervisory authority eventually insisted that the case be considered in court. At the hearings in the Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky City Court, chaired by Natalia Lychkova, witnesses, a religious scholar, and the defendant himself repeatedly emphasized the peacefulness of Jehovah’s Witnesses and their incompatibility with extremism. Nevertheless, the prosecutor demanded that the court imprison Ledenyov for 6 years in a colony. In November 2020, the court sentenced him to 2 years of suspended imprisonment. On January 19, 2021, the appellate court upheld the verdict. On August 19, 2022, the Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky City Court expunged Sergey’s criminal record ahead of schedule.

Эта страница переведена с помощью машинного перевода. Машинный перевод этой страницы отключен.

Леденёв Сергей
Sergey Ledenyov

ФИО:
Леденёв Сергей Михайлович
Ledenyov, Sergey Mikhailovich
Год рождения:
1974
Текущий статус в уголовном деле:
осужденный
Статьи УК РФ:
282.2 (1)
Обновлено 21 января 2021 г.

Биография

В ноябре 2020 года Сергей Леденёв из Петропавловска-Камчатского был приговорен к 2 годам лишения свободы условно только из-за своей веры в Бога Иегову.

Сергей родился в 1974 году в поселке Оссора (Камчатский край). Один из шестерых детей. С детства любит конструировать модели различных видов техники, а также рисовать и фотографировать. Закончив школу, освоил специальности каменщика, плотника и плиточника-облицовщика.

В свое время Сергей считал Библию устаревшей и ненаучной книгой, но изменил свое мнение, когда познакомился с ней получше. Изучение Писания побудило Сергея изменить свою жизнь. «Мой прежний образ жизни был далек от библейских норм», – рассказывает он.

Вторая жена Сергея, Анна, на которой он женился в 2017 году, говорит о нем: «Сергей – очень добрый, очень спокойный человек, любящий и заботливый муж. Это никак не соответствует тому, в чем его пытаются обвинить!» Супруги любят кататься на лыжах и ходить в походы на плотах по рекам Камчатки. У Сергея есть взрослая дочь от первого брака.

Родные Сергея, не разделяющие его религиозные взгляды, не понимают, за что его преследуют. Дочь Лера в результате его уголовного преследования стала чаще общаться с отцом, считает его своим примером.

Краткая история дела

«Ликвидировали юридическое лицо, а преследуют физическое. Если закрыли больницу, медиков не судят за то, что они медики». Так мирному верующему с Камчатки Сергею Леденёву приходилось объяснять в суде очевидное. В декабре 2018 года против него было возбуждено уголовное дело по статье 282.2 (1) УК РФ. Следователь обвинил Леденёва в организации экстремистской деятельности, вменяя «плановое обучение постулатам религиозного объединения Свидетели Иеговы». На предварительном слушании суд вернул дело прокурору, однако надзорное ведомство в итоге настояло на том, чтобы дело было рассмотрено в суде. На слушаниях в Петропавловск-Камчатском городском суде под председательством Натальи Лычковой свидетели, специалист-религиовед и сам обвиняемый не раз подчеркивали миролюбие Свидетелей Иеговы и их несовместимость с экстремизмом. Тем не менее прокурор требовал от суда заключить Леденёва на 6 лет в колонию. В ноябре 2020 года суд приговорил его к 2 годам лишения свободы условно. 19 января 2021 года апелляционная инстанция оставила приговор без изменения.