Updated: July 17, 2024
Name: Khalgaeva Tsagan Borisovna
Date of Birth: March 9, 1978
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (2)
Current restrictions: recognizance agreement
Sentence: 2 years conditionally with a probationary period of 2 years, with a ban to change the permanent place of residence and work without notifying the state body and to leave the place of residence from 23.00 to 6:00

Biography

In the winter of 2023, Tsagan Khalgaeva from Kalmykia faced criminal prosecution for her faith, which caused her to subsequently lose her job.

Tsagan was born in March 1978 in the Kalmyk city of Lagan. She has three brothers and a younger sister. The father is no longer alive, the mother is a pensioner. As a child, Tsagan liked active games, she also loved to read and knit.

After school, the girl was educated in the clothing industry, having mastered the profession of a cutter and tailor of outerwear. For some time, she worked in her specialty and later in cleaning. Tsagan still loves to sew and repair clothes.

As a child, Tsagan asked questions about the meaning of life, the causes of evil and injustice. She recalls: "The death of relatives brought me suffering, and I did not understand why God could not save them, because I asked him about it in prayer." In search of answers to her questions, the girl was interested in various religions. When she came to Elista, she began to study the Bible. Tsagan was surprised to learn that this ancient book is consistent with science, medicine and history and contains practical advice for every day. In 2004, she decided to become one of Jehovah's Witnesses.

In February 2023, the homes of Tsagan and several other believers in Elista were searched. In December of the same year, she was charged with committing a crime under an extremist article. Tsagan said: "Relatives, of course, worry about me, but I try to calm them down."

Case History

In February 2023, the FSB initiated a criminal case for organizing the activity of an extremist organization against pensioner Kishta Tutinova from Elista and raided her home and the homes of her fellow believers. The reason was that the believer, according to the investigation, “held religious meetings and directly participated in them in the form of online conferences” while being at home. She spent 2 days in a temporary detention facility, more than 4 months under house arrest and about 7 months under a ban on certain actions. Tsagan Khalgayeva and Yekaterina Menkova were witnesses in the case, but in December 2023 they were charged with participating in the activity of an extremist organization. In February 2024, the case went to court. Three months later, the women were given suspended sentences ranging from 2 to 3 years.

Обновлено: 12 июня 2024 г.
ФИО: Халгаева Цаган Борисовна
Дата рождения: 9 марта 1978 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимая
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (2)
Текущие ограничения: подписка о невыезде

Биография

Зимой 2023 года Цага́н Халга́ева из Калмыкии столкнулась с уголовным преследованием за свою веру, из-за чего впоследствии лишилась работы.

Цаган родилась в марте 1978 года в калмыцком городе Лагань. У нее трое братьев и младшая сестра. Отца уже нет в живых, мать — пенсионерка. В детстве Цаган нравились активные игры, также она любила читать и вязать.

После школы девушка получила образование в швейной отрасли, освоив профессию закройщицы и портного верхней одежды. Некоторое время работала по специальности, а позже трудилась в сфере уборки. Цаган по-прежнему любит шить и ремонтировать одежду.

Еще в детстве Цаган задавалась вопросами о смысле жизни, причинах зла и несправедливости. Она вспоминает: «Смерть родственников приносила мне страдания, и я не понимала, почему Бог не мог их спасти, ведь я просила его об этом в молитве». В поисках ответов на свои вопросы девушка интересовалась различными религиями. Приехав в Элисту, она начала изучать Библию. Цаган была удивлена, узнав, что эта древняя книга согласуется с наукой, медициной и историей и содержит практические советы на каждый день. В 2004 году девушка решила стать Свидетелем Иеговы.

В феврале 2023 года у Цаган и еще нескольких верующих в Элисте прошли обыски. В декабре того же года ей было предъявлено обвинение в экстремизме. Цаган рассказала: «Близкие, конечно, переживают за меня, но я стараюсь их успокаивать».

Краткая история дела

В феврале 2023 года против пенсионерки Кишты Тутиновой из Элисты ФСБ возбудила уголовное дело за организацию деятельности экстремисткой организации и вторглась с обысками к ней и ее единоверцам. Причиной стало то, что верующая, находясь у себя дома, по мнению следствия, «проводила религиозные собрания и непосредственно участвовала в них в режиме онлайн-конференций». Женщина провела 2 суток в ИВС, более 4 месяцев под домашним арестом и около 7 месяцев под запретом определенных действий. Цаган Халгаева и Екатерина Менькова проходили свидетелями по делу, но в декабре 2023 года им предъявили обвинение в участии в деятельности экстремисткой организации. В феврале 2024 года дело поступило в суд.