Updated: March 2, 2024
Name: Galka Yuriy Yuriyevich
Date of Birth: October 28, 1975
Current status: Defendant
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1)
Time spent in prison: 1 day in a temporary detention facility, 141 day in a pre-trial detention
Current restrictions: Prohibition of certain actions

Biography

On July 13, 2020 more than 110 searches of Jehovah's Witnesses' homes were conducted in the Voronezh region. Ten men aged 24 to 56 years were sent to the pre-trial detention center. Several believers were tortured. Among them was Yuriy Galka.

Yuriy was born in 1975 in the Ukrainian city of Marganets. Yuri is the oldest child in a family with many children. He has a sister and two brothers. When the boy was 2 years old, the family moved to Tajikistan. As a child Yuriy liked to read books, was fond of shooting and karate.

While the young man was studying at the Russian-Tajik University in philology, there was a civil war in Tajikistan. Many families, including Yuriy's one, were starving. To help his family, he combined his studies with a job as a journalist for a local television and radio company, as well as an elevator operator and a construction worker.

At that difficult time, Yuri became acquainted with the biblical teachings professed by Jehovah's Witnesses. The truth from the Bible touched his heart. As a child, he often participated in fights, but through the study of the Holy Scriptures, he learned to love peace.

After graduation, the young man moved to Voronezh, and later his whole family joined him. Here Yuriy had to learn more than one specialty: security guard, loader, tiler. Now he is engaged in tile and mosaic laying.

In 2009, Yuriy married Nadezhda. Modesty of the young man, his tactfulness, reliability, humor and self-esteem attracted the girl. Together they bring up Nadezhda's daughter, encouraging the teenager to develop spiritual values. As a family, they love to spend time with friends, including in nature.

Although Yuriy's family and colleagues do not share his religious views, they are bewildered by the prosecution of a believer. Wife and daughter miss their husband and father very much and wait for him at home. The believer himself is convinced that justice will eventually be restored.

Case history

In one day, July 13, 2020, 110 searches were carried out in 7 settlements of the Voronezh Region — a record-breaking operation against Jehovah’s Witnesses in Russia. Five believers reported torture by the security forces. Ten men aged 24 to 56 years were charged by the Investigative Committee with organizing extremist activities and sent them to prison, where most of them were held for almost 5 months. The events in Voronezh caused a wide public outcry: the EU countries, as well as the United Kingdom and the United States, expressed regret and bewilderment in connection with the incident. The believers themselves do not admit guilt in extremism and emphasize that, as Christians, they respect the authorities and peacefully practice their religion in accordance with constitutional law. Consideration of the case in court began in December 2021. Believers face up to 10 years in prison.

Обновлено: 14 декабря 2021 г.
ФИО: Галка Юрий Юрьевич Galka, Yuriy Yuriyevich
Год рождения: 1975
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: подсудимый
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1)
Провел под стражей: 1 сутки в ИВС г. Воронеж, 141 день в СИЗО № 1 по Воронежской области
Текущая мера пресечения: Запрет определенных действий

Биография

13 июля 2020 года в Воронежской области прошли более 110 обысков в домах Свидетелей Иеговы. Десять мужчин в возрасте от 24 до 56 лет отправлены в СИЗО. Несколько верующих подверглись издевательствам. В их числе и Юрий Галка.

Юрий родился в 1975 году в украинском городе Марганец. Юрий — старший ребенок в многодетной семье. У него есть сестра и два брата. Когда мальчику было 2 года, семья переехала в Таджикистан. В детстве Юра очень любил читать книги, увлекался стрельбой и каратэ.

В то время, как молодой человек учился в Российско-таджикском университете по специальности «филология», в Таджикистане шла гражданская война. Многие семьи, в том числе близкие Юры, голодали. Чтобы помочь родным, он совмещал учебу с работой журналистом в местной телерадиокомпании, а также оператором лифта и разнорабочим на стройке.

В то непростое время Юрий познакомился с библейскими учениями, которые исповедуют Свидетели Иеговы. Истина из Библии затронула его сердце. В детстве он нередко участвовал в драках, но благодаря изучению Священного Писания научился миролюбию.

После окончания университета молодой человек переехал в Воронеж, а позднее к нему присоединилась вся его семья. Здесь Юрию пришлось освоить не одну специальность: охранника, грузчика, плиточника. В настоящее время он занимается укладкой плитки и мозаики.

В 2009 году Юрий женился на Надежде. Скромность молодого человека, его тактичность, надежность, юмор и чувство собственного достоинства привлекли девушку. Они вместе воспитывают дочь Надежды, прививая подростку духовные ценности. Всей семьей они любят проводить время с друзьями, в том числе на природе.

Хотя родные и коллеги Юрия не разделяют его религиозных взглядов, уголовное преследование верующего вызывает у них недоумение. Жена и дочь очень скучают по мужу и отцу и ждут его дома. Сам верующий убежден, что справедливость в итоге будет восстановлена.

Краткая история дела

110 обысков в 7 населенных пунктах Воронежской области прошли за один день — рекордная по своим масштабам операция против Свидетелей Иеговы в России. Пятеро верующих заявили о пытках со стороны силовиков. Десяти мужчинам в возрасте от 24 до 56 лет СК предъявил обвинение в организации экстремистской деятельности и отправил их за решетку, где большинство из них находились почти 5 месяцев. События в Воронеже вызвали широкий общественный резонанс: страны Евросоюза, а также Великобритания и США выразили сожаление и недоумение в связи с происшедшим. Сами верующие не признают связи с экстремизмом и подчеркивают, что, будучи христианами, они с уважением относятся к власти и ведут мирную деятельность в согласии с закрепленным в Конституции правом на свободу вероисповедания. Всем им грозит до 10 лет колонии. В декабре 2021 года дело поступило в Левобережный районный суд Воронежа.