Updated: March 2, 2024
Name: Afanasiyev Sergey Panteleymonovich
Date of Birth: April 30, 1964
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Time spent in prison: 141 day in a pre-trial detention, 296 day in prison
Sentence: punishment in the form of deprivation of liberty for a term of 6 years 6 months, with serving a sentence in a correctional colony of general regime, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public organizations for a term of 4 years 6 months, with restriction of liberty for a term of 1 year
Currently held in: Penal Colony No. 14 in Khabarovsk Territory
Address for correspondence: Afanasiyev Sergey Panteleymonovich, born 1964, IK No. 14 in Khabarovsk Territory, sh. Mashinostroiteley, 10, g. Amursk, Khabarovsk Territory, Russia, 682643

Letters of support can be sent by regular mail or through the «zonatelecom».

Parcels and parcels should not be sent because of the limit on their number per year.

Note: discussing topics related to criminal prosecution is not allowed in letters; languages other than Russian will not pass.

Biography

The decision to become a Christian radically changed the life of Sergey Afanasiyev and his family: “It filled our lives with happiness and purpose,” he says. However, 20 years later, because of his beliefs, the peaceful believer became a victim of religious repression.

Sergey was born in April 1964 in the village of Horonkhoy (Buryatia). He has an older sister. When Sergey was 10 years old, his father died tragically, and his mother had to raise the children alone.

As a child, Sergey was fond of hockey, football and fishing. After school, he went to Blagoveshchensk and entered the river college. Later he gained construction skills and worked for about 15 years in a housebuilding factory.

Sergey met Irina in Blagoveshchensk and in 1984 they got married. The couple raised three children with Christian values. Two of them are adults and already have families of their own.

Sergey was concerned with spiritual questions for many years, but he found answers to them only in 1996, when he and Irina began studying the Bible thoroughly. They were glad to learn that the Holy Scriptures contain the name of God, and they also found useful advice on strengthening the family and raising children. In 1998, the Afanasiyevs became Christians. According to Sergey, Bible knowledge had a positive effect on him: “I began to devote more time to my family and children, and also to help other people”.

In their free time, the Afanasiyevs go to the forest to pick mushrooms, go fishing, go ice-skating and play volleyball. Sergey recently took up painting.

After the searches in the summer of 2018, the life of the Afanasiyev family changed a lot. The criminal prosecution affected their emotional state and physical health. However, the family does not lose heart. Sergey says: “The prosecution dramatically changed our lives. At first we were anxious; there was some kind of uncertainty. But we were not frightened, because we understood that this could happen to anyone”.

Relatives and colleagues are at a loss because of the unfair sentence handed down to this peaceful and exemplary family man—6.5 years in a penal colony only because of his religion. Sergey's daughter, Yekaterina, is also being prosecuted for her faith, and in December 2022 her husband, Anton, was sentenced along with his father-in-law to 6 years and 3 months imprisonment for his beliefs.

Case history

In July 2018, searches were carried out at 7 addresses in Blagoveshchensk as part of a criminal case against local believers. A little over a year later, Obukhov, an investigator of the FSB Directorate for the Amur Region, opened a criminal case against Anton Olshevskiy and Sergey Yermilov on suspicion of participating in extremist activities. In September 2020, Adam Svarichevsky, Sergey Afanasyev and Sergey Kardakov also became defendants in this case (his house was searched). In March 2021, the charges against believers were changed: all five were accused of organizing the activities of an extremist organization, and Afanasyev was also accused of financing it. In September 2021, the case of the believers went to court. A year and two months later, the court found the believers guilty of extremism and sentenced Afanasiyev to 6.5 years, Kardakov to 6 years and 4 months, and Yermilov, Olshevsky and Svarichevsky to 6 years and 3 months in prison. The appeal and cassation upheld the verdict.

Обновлено: 17 мая 2024 г.
ФИО: Афанасьев Сергей Пантелеймонович
Дата рождения: 30 апреля 1964 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Провел под стражей: 141 день в СИЗО, 372 дня в колонии
Приговор: наказание в виде лишения свободы на срок 6 лет 6 месяцев, с отбыванием наказания в исправительной колонии общего режима, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных организаций на срок 4 года 6 месяцев, с ограничением свободы на срок 1 год
Текущее местонахождение: исправительная колония № 14 по Хабаровскому краю
Адрес для корреспонденции: Афанасьеву Сергею Пантелеймоновичу, 1964 г. р., ИК № 14 по Хабаровскому краю, ш. Машиностроителей, 10, г. Амурск, Хабаровский край, 682643

Письма поддержки можно направлять обычной почтой или через систему «zonatelecom».

Посылки и бандероли отправлять не следует из-за лимита на их количество в год.

Примечание: в письмах нельзя обсуждать темы, связанные с уголовным преследованием; письма на языках помимо русского не пропускаются.

Биография

Решение встать на христианский путь коренным образом изменило жизнь Сергея Афанасьева и его семьи: «Это наполнило нашу жизнь счастьем и смыслом», — говорит он. Однако 20 лет спустя из-за своих убеждений мирный верующий стал жертвой религиозных репрессий.

Сергей родился в апреле 1964 года в поселке Хоронхой (Бурятия). У него есть старшая сестра. Когда Сергею было 10 лет, его отец трагически погиб, и матери пришлось самой воспитывать детей.

В детстве Сергей увлекался хоккеем, футболом и рыбалкой. После школы он уехал в Благовещенск и поступил в речное училище. Позднее освоил строительное дело и около 15 лет проработал в домостроительном комбинате.

В Благовещенске Сергей познакомился с Ириной, и в 1984 году они поженились. Супруги воспитали троих детей в духе христианских ценностей. Двое из них взрослые, и у них уже есть свои семьи.

Сергея много лет волновали духовные вопросы, но ответы на них он нашел только в 1996 году, когда начал глубоко исследовать Библию вместе с Ириной. Они были рады узнать, что в Священном Писании есть имя Бога, а также нашли там полезные советы для укрепления семьи и воспитания детей. В 1998 году Афанасьевы встали на христианский путь. По словам Сергея, библейские знания повлияли на него положительно: «Я стал больше времени уделять своей семье и детям, а также помогать другим людям».

В свободное время Афанасьевы ходят в лес за грибами, рыбачат, катаются на коньках и играют в волейбол. Сергей недавно занялся живописью.

После обысков летом 2018 года жизнь семьи Афанасьевых сильно изменилась. Уголовное преследование отразилось на эмоциональном состоянии и физическом здоровье. Однако семья не падает духом. Сергей рассказывает: «Преследование стало резким поворотом в нашей жизни. Поначалу было волнительно, присутствовала некая неопределенность. Но мы не испугались, ведь мы понимали, что такое может произойти с каждым».

Родственники и коллеги в недоумении из-за несправедливого приговора, вынесенного этому мирному человеку и примерному семьянину — 6,5 лет лишения свободы в колонии только из-за вероисповедания. Дочь Сергея, Екатерина, также подвергается уголовному преследованию за веру, а ее супруг, Антон, был вместе с тестем приговорен к 6 годам и 3 месяцам лишения свободы в декабре 2022 года из-за убеждений.

Краткая история дела

В июле 2018 года в Благовещенске прошли обыски по 7 адресам в рамках уголовного дела против местных верующих. Немногим более года спустя следователь УФСБ по Амурской области Обухов возбудил против Антона Ольшевского и Сергея Ермилова уголовное дело по подозрению в участии в экстремистской деятельности. В сентябре 2020 года фигурантами этого дела также стали Адам Сваричевский, Сергей Афанасьев и Сергей Кардаков (у него прошел обыск). В марте 2021 года обвинение верующим было изменено: всех пятерых обвинили в организации деятельности экстремистской организации, а Афанасьева — еще и в ее финансировании. В сентябре 2021 года дело верующих поступило в суд. Через год и два месяца суд признал верующих виновными в экстремизме и приговорил Афанасьева к 6,5 годам, Кардакова к 6 годам и 4 месяцам, а Ермилова, Ольшевского и Сваричевского — к 6 годам и 3 месяцам колонии. Апелляция и кассация оставили приговор без изменений.