The Case of Komissarova in Tolyatti

Case History

One early morning of September 2023, Galina Komissarova, a resident of Tolyatti, was woken up by a loud knock on the door. Officers of the Investigative Committee, who came to search her home, said that a criminal case had been initiated against her for participating in meetings for worship of Jehovah’s Witnesses. Following the search, Komissarova was taken for interrogation, after which she was made to sign a recognizance agreement. Due to the stress she experienced, Galina was hospitalized with a hypertensive crisis. In October 2023, the case went to court. The prosecutor requested 4 years in a penal colony. The court gave the pensioner a 2-year suspended sentence.

  • #
    September 7, 2023 Case initiated Art. 282.2 (2) Elderly

    The investigator of the Investigative Directorate of the Investigative Committee for the Samara Region, N. G. Sysoeva, makes a decision to initiate a criminal case against 62-year-old Galina Komissarova "on the fact of participation in the activities of a religious association."

  • #
    September 8, 2023 Search Interrogation Recognizance agreement

    Early in the morning, four employees of the Investigative Committee conduct a search in the apartment of Galina Komissarova. Then the woman is interrogated at the local office of the Investigative Committee. Investigator Sysoeva wonders if Galina knows Aleksandr Chagan. The believer is given a written undertaking not to leave the place.

  • #
    September 19, 2023 Art. 282.2 (2)

    Investigator Sysoeva charges Galina Komissarova with the fact that she "from March 1, 2020 to September 30, 2022, more exact dates and times have not been established by the investigation, being in an unidentified place on the territory of the city of Tolyatti, Samara Region, using conspiracy measures, including using a video communication application ... took an active part in the form of collective religious worship, consisting of a consistent study and discussion of the religious literature of Jehovah's Witnesses."

  • #
    October 30, 2023 Case went to court

    Referee: Elena Laskina. Central District Court of Togliatti (Togliatti, Belorusskaya str., 16, room 405). Time: 14:15.

  • #
    December 18, 2023 Hearing in a court of the first instance Elderly

    The first court hearing in the case of Galina Komissarova. 5 people are allowed into the courtroom. The defendant makes several motions, three of which the court satisfies: for additional acquaintance with the case materials, for the admission of evidence of the defense, for familiarization with the protocol. The believer explains that she wants to get acquainted with the materials of the case, since they do not contain a certain disk, which the expert refers to in his conclusion.

    The prosecutor announces the charge, the believer expresses her attitude towards it.

  • #
    January 12, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Interrogation Secret witness

    The prosecution is interrogating technical specialist Y. Lazarev. He explains that the Zoom program is a service for video conferencing, its use in Russia is not prohibited. Agrees that the use of a fictitious name during a video conference can be regarded as a protection of personal data.

    Secret witness I. I. Ivanov, who made video recordings of divine services and handed the disks to the investigator, is interrogated via audio link. He says that songs, prayers and Bible talks were heard at such meetings. In general, he characterizes Jehovah's Witnesses as sympathetic people, and Galina Komissarova as a thoughtful and attentive woman. Ivanov reports that he has not heard any extremist statements from the defendant, including calls to undermine the foundations of the constitutional order, break off family relations, and refuse medical intervention.

    Ivanov cannot specify which actions of Jehovah's Witnesses he considers illegal. To many other questions about the work of Jehovah's Witnesses, he says: "I am not an expert."

  • #
    February 5, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Interrogation

    17 people come to the courthouse, 8 of them are allowed to attend the hearing.

    Prosecution witness M. K. Kokhalskaya, who had previously attended services via video link and filmed them on a phone camera, is being interrogated. She says that she has not heard any extremist statements from Galina Komissarova.

  • #
    February 27, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Interrogation Expert studies with violations

    Judge Elena Laskina reads out the conclusions of the comprehensive examinations of the video recordings of the services. One of the authors of the examinations, Kirill Kirushin, is being interrogated. Galina Komissarova asks the expert why he concluded that "sources of an extremist nature banned on the territory of the Russian Federation" were promoted during the service. The expert replies that he took these formulations from the plot written by the investigator on the appointment of a forensic examination.

  • #
    March 12, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance

    The reading of the case materials continues: motions for the admission of defense evidence, including an article on Jehovah's Witnesses from the dictionary-reference book "Religions of Russia" by Ekaterina Elbakyan; the results of a sociological study of the Moscow community of Jehovah's Witnesses "Family and the Bible", as well as excerpts from the books of religious scholars Nikolai Gordienko and Sergey Ivanenko. The judge grants the request to view the recording of the worship service.

  • #
    April 2, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Elderly

    Expert Lenar Galiev does not appear at the court hearing. The prosecutor proposes to read out the conclusions of the examination, but the defense insists on personal interrogation of Galiyev due to the fact that his examination is the basis of the charge.

    The defendant Komissarova petitions for the attachment of documents stating that she was not a member of the LRO of Togliatti, about her financial situation and state of health. Judge Elena Laskina granted the motion.

  • #
    May 2, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Elderly

    Galina Komissarova submits two petitions. In the first, she asks the court to oblige the state prosecutor to explain the circumstances to be proved: "Now the case materials have been examined, witnesses have been interrogated, but I still do not know what exactly my words or actions are interpreted by the prosecution as extremist. Therefore, I cannot defend myself effectively in court, because I do not understand what I need to defend myself against." The judge rejects the motion.

    The defendant also petitions for the return of personal property seized as a result of the search: a webcam, a Wi-Fi router, a phone, a tablet and flash cards. The defendant explains that the prosecution did not request them for examination during the trials.

  • #
    May 30, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Interrogation Expert studies with violations Elderly

    Interrogation of religious scholar L. M. Galiyev via video conferencing. The judge reads out the conclusions of three examinations from the case materials made by Galiev. The defendant Komissarova draws the court's attention to the expert's lack of necessary education. During interrogation, Galiev often evades answering many of the defendant's questions and does not see the difference between religion and legal entity.

    Galiev also said that he was not faced with the question of identifying signs of extremism among the participants of the service, among whom was Komissarova. However, he mentions this in his report and admits that he was simply repeating the wording of the investigator.

  • #
    June 17, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Elderly Interrogation Publications by religious scholars

    With the judge's permission, Galina Komissarova reads excerpts from the publications of two religious scholars, Nikolai Gordienko and Sergey Ivanenko, and comments on them. The believer also tells how biblical knowledge helped her in raising her own children.

  • #
    July 8, 2024 Final statement First Instance Sentence Suspended sentence Art. 282.2 (2) Elderly In the courtroom

    "The motives of all my actions are dictated by the desire to confess my faith, to try to show love for God and for people," Galina Komissarova says her final statement.

Дело Комиссаровой в Тольятти

Краткая история дела

Ранним сентябрьским утром 2023 года 62-летнюю жительницу Тольятти Галину Комиссарову разбудили громкие стуки в дверь. Сотрудники СК, пришедшие к женщине с обыском, сообщили ей, что на нее заведено уголовное дело за участие в богослужениях Свидетелей Иеговы. После обыска Галину доставили на допрос в местное управление Следственного комитета, после которого с нее взяли подписку о невыезде. В октябре 2023 года дело поступило в суд.

  • #
    7 сентября 2023 г. Возбуждено дело 282.2 (2) УК РФ Пожилые

    Следователь СУ СК по Самарской области Н. Г. Сысоева выносит постановление о возбуждении уголовного дела против 62-летней Галины Комиссаровой «по факту участия в деятельности религиозного объединения».

  • #
    8 сентября 2023 г. Обыск Допрос Подписка о невыезде

    Рано утром четверо сотрудников Следственного комитета проводят обыск в квартире Галины Комиссаровой. Затем женщину допрашивают в местном управлении СК. Следователь Сысоева интересуется, знакома ли Галина с Александром Чаганом. С верующей берут подписку о невыезде.

  • #
    19 сентября 2023 г. 282.2 (2) УК РФ

    Следователь Сысоева предъявляет Галине Комиссаровой обвинение в том, что она «с 1 марта 2020 года по 30 сентября 2022 года, более точные даты и время следствием не установлены, находясь в неустановленном следствием месте на территории г. Тольятти Самарской области, с применением мер конспирации, в том числе используя приложение для видеосвязи… принимала активное участие в форме коллективного религиозного богослужения, состоящего из последовательного изучения и обсуждения религиозной литературы „Свидетелей Иеговы"».

  • #
    18 декабря 2023 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Пожилые

    Первое судебное заседание по делу Галины Комиссаровой. В зал суда допускают 5 человек. Подсудимая заявляет несколько ходатайств, три из которых суд удовлетворяет: о дополнительном ознакомлении с материалами дела, о приобщении доказательств стороны защиты, об ознакомлении с протоколом. Верующая объясняет, что хочет дополнительно ознакомиться с материалами дела, так как в них не содержится некий диск, на который ссылается эксперт в своем заключении.

    Прокурор оглашает предъявленное обвинение, верующая выражает свое отношение к нему.

  • #
    12 января 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Допрос Секретный свидетель

    Сторона обвинения допрашивает технического специалиста Ю. Лазарева. Он поясняет, что программа Zoom — это сервис для проведения видеоконференций, его использование в России не запрещено. Соглашается с тем, что использование вымышленного имени в ходе видеоконференции можно расценивать как защиту личных данных.

    По аудиосвязи допрашивают секретного свидетеля И. И. Иванова, который производил видеозаписи богослужений и передавал диски следователю. Он рассказывает, что на таких встречах звучали песни, молитвы и библейские доклады. В целом он характеризует Свидетелей Иеговы как отзывчивых людей, а Галину Комиссарову — как вдумчивую и внимательную женщину. Иванов сообщает, что не слышал от подсудимой экстремистских высказываний, в том числе призывов к подрыву основ конституционного строя, разрыву родственных отношений, отказу от медицинского вмешательства.

    Иванов не может указать, какие именно действия Свидетелей Иеговы он считает противоправными. На многие другие вопросы о деятельности Свидетелей Иеговы он говорит: «Я не специалист».

  • #
    5 февраля 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Допрос

    К зданию суда приходят 17 человек, на заседание пускают 8 из них.

    Допрашивается свидетель обвинения М. К. Кохальская, которая ранее посещала богослужения по видеосвязи и снимала их на камеру телефона. Она говорит, что не слышала от Галины Комиссаровой экстремистских высказываний.

  • #
    27 февраля 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Допрос Экспертизы с нарушениями

    Судья Елена Ласкина зачитывает выводы комплексных экспертиз видеозаписей богослужений. Допрашивают одного из авторов экспертиз, Кирилла Кирушина. Галина Комиссарова спрашивает эксперта, почему он сделал вывод, что во время богослужения пропагандировались «источники экстремистского характера, запрещенные на территории РФ». Эксперт отвечает, что эти формулировки он взял из написанной следователем фабулы постановления о назначении судебной экспертизы.

  • #
    12 марта 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции

    Продолжается зачитывание материалов дела — ходатайств о приобщении доказательств защиты, включающих статью о Свидетелях Иеговы из словаря-справочника «Религии России» Екатерины Элбакян; итоги социологического исследования московской общины Свидетелей Иеговы «Семья и Библия», а также выдержки из книг религиоведов Николая Гордиенко и Сергея Иваненко. Судья удовлетворяет ходатайство о просмотре записи богослужения.

  • #
    2 апреля 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Пожилые

    Эксперт Ленар Галиев на заседание суда не является. Прокурор предлагает зачитать выводы экспертизы, но сторона защиты настаивает на личном допросе Галиева в связи с тем, что его экспертиза лежит в основе обвинения.

    Подсудимая Комиссарова ходатайствует о приобщении документов о том, что она не состояла в МРО г. Тольятти, о ее материальном положении и состоянии здоровья. Судья Елена Ласкина удовлетворяет ходатайство.

  • #
    2 мая 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Пожилые

    Галина Комиссарова подает два ходатайства. В первом она просит суд обязать гособвинителя разъяснить обстоятельства, подлежащие доказыванию: «Сейчас материалы дела исследованы, свидетели допрошены, но я до сих пор не знаю, какие именно мои слова или действия трактуются стороной обвинения как экстремистские. Поэтому я не могу защищаться в судебном заседании эффективно, так как не понимаю, от чего нужно защищаться». Судья отклоняет ходатайство.

    Подсудимая также ходатайствует о возврате личного имущества, изъятого в результате обыска: веб-камеры, Wi-Fi-роутера, телефона, планшета и флеш-карт. Подсудимая поясняет, что сторона обвинения не запрашивала их для осмотра во время судебных заседаний.

  • #
    30 мая 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Допрос Экспертизы с нарушениями Пожилые

    Допрос религиоведа Л. М. Галиева по видео-конференц-связи. Судья зачитывает выводы трех экспертиз из материалов дела, сделанные Галиевым. Подсудимая Комиссарова обращает внимание суда на отсутствие у эксперта необходимого образования. Во время допроса Галиев часто уклоняется от ответов на множество вопросов подсудимой и не видит разницы между религией и юридическим лицом.

    Также Галиев говорит, что перед ним не стоял вопрос о выявлении признаков экстремизма у участников богослужения, среди которых была Комиссарова. Однако он упоминает об этом в своем заключении и признается, что просто повторял формулировку следователя.