The case of Baylo in Kholmskaya

Case History

In March 2024, a criminal case was opened against Valeriy Bailo under the article on participation in the activities of an extremist organization. A few days later, the man was summoned to the Investigative Committee for interrogation, after which his house was searched, and the believer himself was placed in a pre-trial detention center. On June 26, 2024, the first court hearing was held, and on July 3, Bailo was sentenced to 2.5 years in a penal colony.

  • #
    March 28, 2024 Case initiated Elderly Art. 282.2 (2)

    E. V. Shevchenko, investigator of the Investigative Directorate for the Abinsk District of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation for the Krasnodar Territory, initiates a criminal case against 66-year-old Valery Bailo under Part 2 of Article 282.2 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation.

  • #
    April 2, 2024 Search Detention center Interrogation Elderly Art. 282.2 (2) Temporary detention facility

    Bailo is summoned for questioning by the Investigative Committee. He was charged with participating in the activities of an extremist organization, after which he was placed in a temporary detention facility in the city of Krymsk.

  • #
    April 3, 2024 Search

    Investigator Shevchenko issues a search order in Bailo's home. She considers this to be an urgent case, of which she notifies the prosecutor's office and the court.

  • #
    April 4, 2024 Detention center

    The Abinsk District Court detains the believer. Bailo is placed in pre-trial detention center No. 3 in the city of Novorossiysk.

  • #
    April 19, 2024 Detention center Elderly

    The believer is kept alone in a special block - a semi-basement room in which there are no windows. It's damp there, the lights are on around the clock. His friends gave him the necessary things and food.

  • #
    April 30, 2024 Elderly Health risk Medical treatment within the Federal Penitentiary Service

    Valeriy Bailo is experiencing acute toothache and needs urgent dental treatment. In addition, the believer suffers from a chronic disease of the gastrointestinal tract, which, if the diet is disturbed, is exacerbated and accompanied by acute pain. Bailo also has serious problems with one of the knee joints, which also causes severe pain.

  • #
    May 17, 2024 Detention center Medical treatment within the Federal Penitentiary Service Letters Health risk Restriction of the right to medical care Elderly

    Valery was transferred from the special unit to a brighter and more spacious cell, in which he is held with two previously convicted prisoners. He regularly receives letters, but not all of his answers are sent to the addressees.

    The believer continues to experience health problems. He wrote several applications requesting a medical examination, but all of them remain unanswered at the moment. He still needs knee surgery.

    A believer is not given a Bible from the library of the pre-trial detention center. At his request, his acquaintances sent him the Holy Scriptures in the Synodal translation, but the book was placed in the warehouse of the pre-trial detention center. The believer is waiting for it to be given to him.

  • #
    May 27, 2024 Detention center

    A hearing is underway to extend the preventive measure. When asked by the defense what the investigation was doing while Valery Bailo was in custody, the investigator explained that "she did not work with Bailo, because there was no need" - she studied the materials of previous criminal cases against Jehovah's Witnesses, and an expert opinion characterizing the material was obtained, material evidence was examined, and witnesses who participated in the search were questioned.

    The court upholds the preventive measure.

  • #
    June 13, 2024 Case went to court

    The case goes to the Abinsky District Court, it will be considered by Judge Sergey Mikhin.

  • #
    June 26, 2024 Hearing in a court of the first instance Interrogation

    A district police officer and a woman whom the believer does not know are interrogated.

  • #
    July 3, 2024 Art. 282.2 (2) First Instance Sentence Elderly Deprivation of liberty

    Judge Sergey Mikhin sentences Valery Bailo to 2.5 years in a general regime colony.

Дело Байло в Холмской

Краткая история дела

В марте 2024 года против Валерия Байло было возбуждено уголовное дело по статье об участии в деятельности экстремистской организации. Спустя несколько дней мужчину вызвали в Следственный комитет на допрос, после чего у него дома провели обыск, а самого верующего поместили в СИЗО. 26 июня 2024 года состоялось первое судебное заседание, а уже 3 июля Байло был вынесен приговор — 2.5 года колонии общего режима.

  • #
    28 марта 2024 г. Возбуждено дело Пожилые 282.2 (2) УК РФ

    Следователь СО по Абинскому району СУ СК РФ по Краснодарскому краю Е. В. Шевченко возбуждает уголовное дело против 66-летнего Валерия Байло по ч. 2 ст. 282.2 УК РФ.

  • #
    2 апреля 2024 г. Обыск СИЗО Допрос Пожилые 282.2 (2) УК РФ ИВС

    Байло вызывают на допрос в Следственный комитет. Ему предъявляют обвинение в участии в деятельности экстремистской организации, после чего помещают в ИВС города Крымска.

  • #
    3 апреля 2024 г. Обыск

    Следователь Шевченко выносит постановление о проведении обыска в жилище Байло. Она считает это случаем, не терпящим отлагательств, о чем уведомляет прокуратуру и суд.

  • #
    4 апреля 2024 г. СИЗО

    Абинский районный суд заключает верующего под стражу. Байло помещают в СИЗО № 3 города Новороссийска.

  • #
    19 апреля 2024 г. СИЗО Пожилые

    Верующий содержится один в спецблоке — полуподвальном помещении, в котором нет окон. Там сыро, свет включен круглосуточно. Друзья передали ему необходимые вещи и еду.

  • #
    30 апреля 2024 г. Пожилые Угроза здоровью Лечение в системе ФСИН

    Валерий Байло испытывает острую зубную боль и нуждается в срочном стоматологическом лечении. Помимо этого верующий страдает хроническим заболеванием желудочно-кишечного тракта, которое при нарушении режима питания обостряется и сопровождается острой болью. Также у Байло серьезные проблемы с одним из коленных суставов, что тоже вызывает сильные боли.

  • #
    17 мая 2024 г. СИЗО Лечение в системе ФСИН Письма Угроза здоровью Ограничение права на медпомощь Пожилые

    Валерий переведен из спецблока в более светлую и просторную камеру, в которой содержится с двумя ранее судимыми арестантами. Он регулярно получает письма, однако не все его ответы отправляют адресатам.

    Верующий продолжает испытывать проблемы со здоровьем. Он написал несколько заявлений с просьбой провести медицинский осмотр, но все они на данный момент остаются без ответа. Он по-прежнему нуждается в операции на коленном суставе.

    Верующему не выдают Библию из библиотеки СИЗО. По его просьбе знакомые прислали ему Священное Писание в Синодальном переводе, однако книгу поместили на склад СИЗО. Верующий ждет, когда ему ее выдадут.

  • #
    27 мая 2024 г. СИЗО

    Проходит заседание по продлению меры пресечения. На вопрос стороны защиты, чем следствие занималось пока Валерий Байлонаходится под стражей, следователь пояснила, что «с Байло она не работала, потому что не было необходимости» — она исследовала материалы предыдущих уголовных дел в отношении Свидетелей Иеговы, а также было получено заключение эксперта, характеризующий материал, осмотрены вещественные доказательства, допрошены понятые, участвовавшие в обыске.

    Суд оставляет меру пресечения без изменения.

  • #
    13 июня 2024 г. Дело поступило в суд

    Дело поступает в Абинский районный суд, его будет рассматривать судья Сергей Михин.

  • #
    26 июня 2024 г. Слушание в суде первой инстанции Допрос

    Допрашиваются участковый полиции и женщина, которую верующий не знает.

  • #
    3 июля 2024 г. 282.2 (2) УК РФ Приговор первой инстанции Пожилые Лишение свободы

    Судья Сергей Михин приговаривает Валерия Байло к 2,5 годам колонии общего режима.